The “Bad Husband” Chronicles

Just another day for you and me in Paradise

And if you must go to work tomorrow…well, if I were you, I wouldn’t bother

Posted by mozziestarlet on March 5, 2009

pink20slip

Yesterday at 10am, I lost my rockstar job.  The job I was so proud of, the job that was going to help me finally get my life in order, the job I felt would secure my future career, was gone in the blink of an eye, without warning, reason, or explanation.  I spent the entire afternoon at home yesterday, in a state of utter shock and disbelief, fighting back not only tears but the feeling of complete rejection that enveloped me.  Why did this happen?  What did I possibly do to deserve this at a point in my life when I’m facing the future on my own?  Am I the butt of some cruel joke that a power greater than myself has masterminded, and if so, why me?  I wish I could understand, but I don’t.  The Good Book says that difficult times and trials serve to build personal character, but haven’t I been through enough? 

What wounds me most is the way that I was treated yesterday.  I was baited into HR’s office by my supervisor to “sign a document,” and backed into a steel trap without any hope of escape.  I was told they appreciated my work at the company thus far, but they’ve decided not to continue my employment.  After I struggled to pick my jaw off the floor, I proceeded to ask why and got little to no valid explanation for my termination.  The irony of it is that two days ago I received a positive appraisal on my 60-day evaluation with my supervisor.  The whole situation makes no sense, and quite frankly, stinks of something dishonest.  If budget cuts and the economy are such a strain that my job can be deemed ‘superfluous,’ then by all means, tell me that.  Don’t shuffle me out the door, with my personal belongings in hand, and make me feel as if I did something to deserve being treated like a second class citizen, or even worse, a criminal.  I suppose honesty and integrity are dead on the vine along with chivalry and fidelity.  It does seem that the harder I work at my job, the kinder I am to accommodate the needs of others and go beyond the call of duty, the more consistently I get shafted.  It breaks my spirit and makes it difficult to believe in the general decency of mankind.  I live my life by the Golden Rule:  Always treat others how you would want to be treated.  The inherent problem here is that in the corporate arena, no one else subscribes to this antiquated ideal.  It’s dog-eat-dog and every man for himself…climb the ladder and it doesn’t matter who you have to step on to get to the top.  He who has all the gold wins, right?  BARF.

So, what will I do now?  I suppose I will do what I’ve become so good at doing.  I’ll pick myself up by my weathered boot straps, dust myself off, and start again.  The most honest and simple thing about me is that I just want to be somewhere that I will be treated with dignity, honor, respect and appreciation for my talent and work ethic.  That’s it, in a nutshell.   And for whatever reason, that is such a difficult nut to crack.

cza0638l

4 Responses to “And if you must go to work tomorrow…well, if I were you, I wouldn’t bother”

  1. Marian said

    I am sooooo sorry! It is scary, scary times out there. I just had to accept at 10% paycut at my job, which is a contract job in the first place and therefore tenuous. And in a rash spell, I took an apartment on Saturday! I just don’t know if I will be able to afford it now……

    We will all get through this! Not today or tomorrow. Who knows, maybe you were let go so you would be free to take your REAL dream job, which is just around the corner?

    “So, tell me how long before the last one?
    And tell me how long before the right one?”

  2. Pine Saul said

    I’m so sorry for this happening to you. It’s scandalous how companies (including my own) will hire people with even whispers of economic doom on their lips. I wish you Godspeed in locating new fruitful work.

  3. Jay Jay said

    Hang in there, sistah – I have faith in you. You rock-capiche??

  4. Radbodo am Hoog said

    well, i’m kinda sorry for you. but what do you american people expectt from your kind of capitalism?! Think about it – if you like.

Leave a Reply

 
