The “Bad Husband” Chronicles

Just another day for you and me in Paradise

Destination unknown

Posted by mozziestarlet on March 13, 2009

bxp66049

A week has elapsed since I lost my job.  Truly, it took nearly three days just for the shock to dissipate and the full irony of the situation to settle into my subconscious.  I mean, really…what are the odds of being laid off as many times as I have and now in the worst of economic times?  Surely, they must rival the lottery by now.  To be completely honest, yes, losing my job gutted me.  But, it has happened to me so many times now I can hardly be shocked when I hear ‘the speech’ again and again.  I placed first in the national ‘I’ve been laid off’ competition, reciting the speech verbatim in my sleep, standing on one toe, and washing my hair simultaneously.

I really have no idea what I will do now except keep trudging along as I always have in this situation.  I’ll keep networking, sending out hundreds of emails in the hope that they don’t land in someone’s ‘spam’ folder, and maybe, hopefully, something will come my way before I starve to death.  Isn’t it a sad commentary on the state of the world today when a college degree, fifteen years’ experience, and handfuls of personal testimonies to your abilities can’t even land you secure and steady employment? If this is happening to me and millions of other capable professionals, what hope do today’s graduates have when they walk off that stage, degree in hand, hoping to land the job they’ve been preparing for?

One of the most ironic things I’ve found about the corporate arena is that the crummier a person you actually are, the higher up the ladder you seem to climb.  I know you may shake your head in disbelief at this, but I can assure you, it’s so entirely true.  As I’ve progressed through the rungs, one painful step at a time, the more corrupt and dishonest people seem to be.  Why is this?  Does it take this type of person to be able to keep the wheels of capitalism spinning?  Do you have to be a self-centered loser to do well professionally?  Perhaps that is the root of my problem.  You see, I am neither of these things and couldn’t be even if I gave it a hero’s effort.  As sarcastic as I appear, I am a painfully nice girl and actually do care about others.  I realize that into every life a little a-hole must fall, but wouldn’t it be grand if there were a place where people actually treated one another as they wished to be treated?  What an absolute utopia that place would be.

And if I found that place some day, that place of genuine goodness and sincerity where being a good person meant that a good life would befall you, well…who knows. 

“I think I need a vacation –

More than a day or two,

or even a week,

but truly, a vacation.

A time to reflect on

the promises of tomorrow

and shelve away past regrets

and present sacrifices;

If only I could find a place of peace

(if such a place exists)

I would pack my bags

and leave nothing behind,

not even a forwarding address.”

– Mozziestar, 1999

uncertaintytypes

3 Responses to “Destination unknown”

  1. Laura said

    Just read your blog and know exactly what you are feeling about the ones who “succeed” in life. This writer has two degrees and a community college diploma and is waiting for her welfare cheque to arrive in the mail. What I would like to know is how someone without any university training got substitute jobs ahead of me before Christmas and how am I not supposed to take that personally?

    I started looking at this time as my retirement.

  2. Synthpop is dead said

    I agree that most of the top brass are sleazeballs. Just look at why Tyco, Enron, Worldcom, Wall Street, the mortgage giants, etc. have all faltered. I thought that my college business ethics course was a waste of time because I was too naive to think that such educated people could be such worthless thugs and scumbags. Such a fitting topic for “Mama Lay Softly On The Riverbed.”

  3. I’m with you, sister. Those at the top are like scum that wafts in a pond. They hold meetings about other meetings while the workerbees actually produce something. I’ve been at the table with them during their champagne lunches. I’ve seen the billable hours that fund parties and fine dining and hotel rooms. Those at the top have something in common. They are missing that little thing called a conscience. They step on the heads of others with ease and a smile. Thankfully, there’s karma.

Leave a Reply

 
